My Internet Wanderings

Barnes & Noble Nook Color: A Review

I’m going to branch out and do something different: a review.

What I like:  The screen resolution is very nice. Images and movies are crisp and clear. The page refresh rate is snappy. This is a must for any e-reader. I like the adjustable brightness. Generally I keep it dark, but on occasion it’s necessary to crank it up a bit. The multimedia features are nice. I loaded Avatar onto it and it looked nice. I like the overall styling and design of the Nook. The Sudoku and Crosswords are nice. Also, importantly, I was able to load my Sony e-Books onto my Nook via Adobe Digital Editions with no problem, although I wish they would show up on my Bookshelf. Also, there is a Micro SD slot for expanded storage.

What I don’t like. Battery life can be short if you leave the display bright and the wifi on. Mostly this isn’t an issue, but I can envision a scenario in which I’m almost done with a book and have it run out of juice with no place to charge it up. There is a web browser, but it sucks. It’s slow and not very user friendly. I suppose it would do in a pinch, but I would use my iPhone 4 on 3G before turning on this browser. Music: You can play Pandora or MP3s on the Nook, but there is so much background static, that it’s annoying to use. Again, I’d rather plug in my iPod and read. There is a photo gallery built in that works well enough, but if you have pictures side-loaded on a Micro SD, you can’t view thumbnails, so it’s practically useless since most of my pics are labeled ‘DSC0356’ and the like. There is no resume option for movies, they always start from the beginning. Also, access to the Micro SD slot can be difficult. This is the only design drawback.

In a nutshell: It may seem I don’t like my Nook from the length of my cons list, but this isn’t true. It’s firstly an e-book reader and it does that very well.  All of my gripes are with the extra functions. The software is still version 1.1.0, so there is a lot of room for improvement. The word is B&A will improve the OS soon maybe even upgrading to Android Honeycomb. I think I will eventually root my Nook and install either Ubuntu or Android Honeycomb on it once the process has been refined. Bottom line: would I recommend it to others? Yes. It’s solidly built and has lots of room to grow, besides being a fun and affordable DIY tablet project.

CNET’s review

AOTS’ Gadget Pron Review

Leave a Reply

